Main loop - does everyone do the same stuff ?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Main loop - does everyone do the same stuff ?

Dax Trajero(Posted 2004) [#1]
I'm new to all this stuff so was wondering if I'm doing things correctly in my main loop

Function main_loop ()

While Not keyhit(1)

Update_Game_Timers()
Get_Player_input()
Check_Sprite_to_Screen_Collision()
Check_Sprite_to_Sprite_Collision()

WaitTimer(screentimer) ; timer runs at 60Hz
Draw_Screen()
Draw_Sprites()

Wend

End Function

As you can see from the above code I have a screentimer set at 60, so the screen is redrawn at 60Hz. Is this the best way to attain smooth graphics or am I using an incorrect method ?

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#2]
Well, everyone does it slightly differently, but that's essentially what I do. I find that having a function called main_loop is a bit redundant; I do a loop in the main program, outside of any functions, and that loop calls functions (much like you are doing.)

That said, I prefer to have even fewer functions called directly in the main loop, and the functions are abstracted further. So rather than calling functions to move the player and check collisions and such, my main loop calls just two functions, UpdateGame and DrawEverything. Those functions call collision detection routines and drawing functions.

CS_TBL(Posted 2004) [#3]
if your mainloop is kinda big, then a main-loop function has the advantage that you can fold that loop in visual blitz ..

Tibit(Posted 2004) [#4]
I would not recommend using WaitTimer() to halt your program so that is fits a certain FPS. Instead Use Delta Time:

DeltaT#=(MilliSecs()-TimeD#)/1000: TimeD#=MilliSecs()