Windows / GUI Functionality in Blitz+

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Windows / GUI Functionality in Blitz+

thalamus(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi,

I'm pretty new to Blitz+, but I've started work on a Windows-based Map Editor and I'm looking for some resources on the Windows-based GUI functions.

The documentation that comes with Blitz+ is all very well, but there are precious few examples of how this all fits together, and some of the functionality (Create a window, update it, create gadgets, assign to group, release gadget, etc., etc.,) can be somewhat daunting.

I *refuse* to use a GUI editor - it makes more sense (to me, anyway!) to learn how these things are done :)

My question is - does anyone know of any decent tutorials or articles which cover the GUI aspect of Blitz+?

Cheers,

Andy/Thalamus

soja(Posted 2004) [#2]
I don't, but it's fairly straightforward after looking at some examples. I would start out with a nice event-based barebones:
wndMain=CreateWindow("",200,200,200,200)
Repeat
	Select WaitEvent()
		Case $803 : End
	End Select
Forever

You can put in all the events you want to watch for in the Select WaitEvent() structure, including GadgetAction events (for when you have multiple gadgets, you can put a Select EventSource() in that event's case to figure out what gadget was used) and Timer events if you want to do something every 60th of a second, for example, render a game. Just say CreateTimer(60) upon initialization.

As for what you're asking for...
Create a window: Use the CreateWindow command, that's really all there is to it.

Update a window: All the normal window operations update normally. You can use other Window commands AND some gadget commands on windows to hide them, disable them, resize them programmatically, etc.

Create Gadgets: It's as simple as using any of the "Create..." functions listed under their respective gadgets (in the docs). Just set the parent to be the window handle (wndMain in this case).