Mouselook and general interpolation

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Mouselook and general interpolation

Hujiklo(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi there everybody.
I've had Blitz3d for about a week now and am struggling to find my feet. I'm not a natural coder so pretty much everything is a strain on my poor brain, and so I need to ask a few questions!!
I've been trawling through lots of Blitz code this past week - in particular FPS stuff. So far I've seen that all the mouselook is handled in pretty much the same way using MouseSpeed x and y etc..I was wondering if anybody has any other code that does not rely on this 'speed' system. The problem for me is at particlularly slow speeds whilst gently nudging the mouse the camera does not rotate so well. It sort of sticks, and is a real pain whilst trying to aim far away and be accurate at the same time
(imagine you were sniping through a scope and just trying to gently bead in on the target) - it leaves you feeling sort of powerless as only a real tug on the mouse will get it moving again, and of course by then you're off target!!
I was wondering why the mouse's x and y coordinates are not used at all as the guide for rotations? Can anybody tell me how it can be done in blitz3d? I'm imagining that at very slow mouse speeds it will be a little more rigid - that's what I'm hoping for.

Also can anybody tell me how to interpolate values say from co-ords to degrees? I used to use 3drad and cannot see any command that might give me the same results.

Any help or pointers at all would be fantastic...and forgive me if what I've just said sounds stupid!

Thanks.

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#2]
What you can do is, set the mouse X and Y to the centre of the screen. Then, every loop do call this:

y_move = center_x - MouseX()
x_move = center_y - MouseY()

RotateEntity camera , EntityPitch(camera) + move_x , EntityYaw(camera) + move_y , EntityRoll(camera)

MoveMouse center_x , center_y