World Scale Confusion !!

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/World Scale Confusion !!

Jamie(Posted 2004) [#1]
Greetings,

I have run into a problem that I have been ignoring and now is causing me some troubles.

First a little background:

I have a tiled mesh that I am using as a terrain and have enclosed it into a skybox. I am trying to allow the user to fly both close to the terrain and high above the terrain.

Now the problem:

To allow for the "greater viewing area" when flying high, I have increase my camera's range. With tiling 3 meshes plus the skybox plus other entities I have an obscene camera range!!! I know it is good practice to limit your camera range to something small (4 decimals or less) for position accuracy and to eliminate tearing. The quesiton I have is how do I go about scaling my whole world down to a mangageable size?

Here are a few "specs"

MeshWidth-> 121212 (according to Blitz's MeshWidth Command)
CameraRange-> 1 to 559000 (Ouch I know)

Additionally, each of the tiled meshs are CopyMesh'd from an original source mesh.I currently do not perform any ScaleMesh or ScaleEntity calls. Overall performance is decent but I have not achieved the viewing distance that I desire. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks

Jamie

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#2]
You shouldn't need to increase the size of your skybox as that is just set to draw first.

With regards to your mesh widths, is there any reason why you can't just scale it down?

Jamie(Posted 2004) [#3]
Thanks for the reply Rob...

Maybe the code I am using for the skybox is not implemented correctly as I went back and do not see any entityorder commands. I assume this is the way to make it "draw first" and then I can draw everything else. FYI my "radius" of my sckybox is set to 440000 right now.