Definitions

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Definitions

martonic(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hello! I am new to 3d game creation and lack information. Maybe you guys can help! To begin with, who can explain the difference between a "map", a "level", a "terrain" and a "world"? How does a "Level editor" differ from a "World editor" or from a "Map editor" or from a "Terrain editor"?

Secondly, is there any such thing as a "Terrain (or World etc.) CREATOR" --as opposed to a "Terrain EDITOR"? I start with _zero_ terrains and an "editor" is useless without something to edit. How do I _create_ a terrain that I can then either edit, or use in a game?

Finally, how do you create (not just "borrow") a .BSP file? I don't see any tools that can do that - but they must have come from somewhere.

Thanks.

Marty "martonic"

Perturbatio(Posted 2004) [#2]
Most terrain editors posted on here are actually terrain creators as well.

I think you can get a BSP compiler on the valve website (I might be wrong about that).

eBusiness(Posted 2004) [#3]
A terrain is basically the ground, it's a 2D matrix containing height information, it's a specific object type that you can create with Blitz. Map, level and world means about the same thing, world is usually used when the entire game take place on a single map. A terrain editor is for terrains, a world editor is usually capable of editing more than levels, like NPC properties.

An editor is usually also a creator.

BSP? Try Googling for bsp editor.

And welcome to the forum!

martonic(Posted 2004) [#4]
Thanks. Is it about like this:

terrain = ground or surface including land, water, mountains, roads, trees and plants

map = terrain + sky + buildings + other objects

world = map + birds + fish + non-playing characters

level = world + actors + story or goal

game = sum of all levels

- Marty

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#5]
Well, it depends on your opinion really. Those terms could be mixed and matched, so there's no real definition i'd say. :)