Can't close the compiled and run code window.

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Can't close the compiled and run code window.

SausageOfDoom(Posted 2004) [#1]
Okay, I'm new to this, so bear with me.

I've just bought and downloaded Blitz Plus and tried a few of the examples that came with the install.

All seems fine except when I want to close the window of the source I just compiled and run. It just won't shut down!!!

For example..

If I load the source for, say Aristoids, then Execute it...the game runs in a newly opened window. When I want to shut that window though, it just won't.

Am I being dim, or wot?

Surely, clicking the "X" close button should do just that?

I'm running Blitz Plus on a P4 1.7Ghz, 512 mb and Windows XP. GeForce II gfx card.

Any ideas, NE1?

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#2]
You try pressing the escape key?

Also, you might want to try and update your copy. I had buggy problems running the examples when i first bought blitzplus :)

SausageOfDoom(Posted 2004) [#3]
Hiya,

I only just downloaded the latest copy that same day.

However, I think it's something to do with the source examples (games) as they seem to be quite old examples that stem from the OLD Blitz2d.

I think the old source files should be removed from the new Blitz Plus package.

Some of the other source examples (in the samples folder) worked fine and terminated properly.

SausageOfDoom(Posted 2004) [#4]
Oh..er... yes, depressing the Escape key (and holding) does work too :)

Zethrax(Posted 2004) [#5]
With BlitzPlus I think you need to handle the closing of the window (or end the program) yourself when you receive a close window event message. I think that's how it works anyway, it's been a while since I used BlitzPlus.

This is a good thing as it lets you save gadget input data, etc, before the window closes.

Darth Testine(Posted 2004) [#6]
How do you receive/detect a window close event in Blitz-3d?

PowerPC603(Posted 2004) [#7]
I'm afraid there's no close-event in Blitz3D.