Alternative Editor

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Alternative Editor

Banshee(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hello, i'm new to Blitz and am finding that the supplied IDE is really not my cup of tea at all because it changes the capitalisation of what I type.

I like to work almost entirely in lower case, using upper case purely to define secondary words likeInThisExample.

The default editor keeps changing the case of what I type, and I hate it with a passion !

I also hate the colours.

There does not seem to be any configuration for the IDE, so are there alternative IDE's that are designed for use with Blitz3D with command highlighting etc that dont change what I type and have context sensitive help etc. ?

Any help would be appreciated for this capitalistically challenged programmer.

Thank you.

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#2]
You can change the colours in the IDE. Goto the blitz3d directory and go into the "cfg" folder and edit the "blitzide.prefs" file using notepad or something.

As for the uppercase characters, i couldn't say. I'd imagine there would be a way to make the names lowercase. Probably involve alot of manual work though :)

Warren(Posted 2004) [#3]
The editor only changes the case on Blitz keywords. Your own variables should be unaffected.

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#4]
I think he means that it changes the commands to uppercase, and he's not wanting that to happen.

Banshee(Posted 2004) [#5]
yes indeedy, "endFunction" is a command, "EndFunction" is horrid! I know it sounds silly but i've been doing this for years and years and I like it !

Thanks for the tip on the colours though i'll do that :)

I'm still getting used to typing "End Function" with a space at the moment though, and getting my head around sprites being an entity or something ... *bangs head on wall* I shouldn't do this on a work night ! :)

Warren(Posted 2004) [#6]