collisions rigging

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/collisions rigging

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#1]
my problem is when i set up the collision sphere for a character, it starts at his center so i have expand the radius to take care of the collision at his feet, this then stops him miles away from walls

i am sooooo lost on this !!!

can anybody tell me how to rigg a character for collisions, i mean should i be setting up 3 pivots,..feet,torso and head
or is there a way of using the bones in an object to add collision spheres to..i have been looking at findchild()
i have tried this and tried to parent a small sphere to it so i can see where the collision needs to take place,but when i try to parent anything to it, it dont work...what am i doing wrong....or anybody know of any tutorials on setting up collision points on a character.....

any advice has to be in total noobi..please

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#2]
2 smaller collision spheres

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#3]
rob do you mean 2 createspheres() with there own entity radious() parented to the character one at his feet one at his mid then hide the sphere with alpha. use these for the collisions

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#4]
Personally, I'd use pivots not spheres. That said you might only need to have the collision sphere at the feet anyway.

Also you do realise that it doesn't need to be a collision sphere, it can be an elipse.

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#5]
thanks

i still need to figure out how to attch collisions points to bones if this is possible at all....as i need the character to hang of legdes ?

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#6]
Check out the findchild command

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#7]
i tried that

boot=FindChild(kid,"BaseBone")
pivball=LoadMesh("Pivball.b3d") ; attch a visible sphere
EntityParent pivball,boot

but it comes back as entity does not exist on the boot
i have checked the names of the bones over and over again

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#8]
Are you doing a loadanimmesh to get the mesh into blitz?