3d stuff

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/3d stuff

Grey(Posted 2004) [#1]
Helo world! I bought Blitz3d yesterday and i am pretty well clueless so far. Ive got Blitz3d and Maplet but how am i supposed to create 3d objects for this game? do I need more software? (im pretty new to programming- my only experience being with a restricted program called Kilk & Play which i got a few years back. If anyone can tell me what im doing please do!

Mustang(Posted 2004) [#2]
do I need more software?

Yes. Blitz3D is a programming language, nothing more.

Grey(Posted 2004) [#3]
What sort of software can you reccomend

Grey(Posted 2004) [#4]
ne1?

puki(Posted 2004) [#5]
Hi "Grey"

You don't necessarily have to create your own objects - you can use load existing 3d models into Blitz3D.

If you are new to modelling and want to create models - why not try 'DeleD' (http://www.blitzbasic.com/toolbox/toolbox.php?cat=1)

It has some prefabricated models (which are also easy to edit), such as houses and stuff - some of the models are nice looking.

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#6]
Milkshape is a great cheap modeller. http://www.milkshape3d.com

There are others, Blender, Wings3D, check the links section on this site.

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#7]
Also, if you just want to mess about the 3d objects, remember in blitz you have commands to create cubes, spheres, cone and cylinders.

I really recommend the tuturial for 3d, that comes with blitz though, accessed by clicking 3d tutorials. :)

And welcome to Blitz :D

Grey(Posted 2004) [#8]
Thanks ill look into that stuff. Yes i am new to modelling (and pretty much everything else for that matter but ive got heaps of ideas 4 games (specifically RPGs ang ones involving samurai) so as soon as im all set with this stuff ill b aiming to flood the gallery! :@

eBusiness(Posted 2004) [#9]