TCP Chat client

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/TCP Chat client

mrmango(Posted 2004) [#1]
I created a small client to allow TCP chat.. mainly to play with the idea of chating duting games.

Whilst it is quite a nasty through together code wise. This is my first attempt at anything in Blitz since my days of Stos.

The problems I have is that the client seems to crash when I click away from the window and also if you run the client on seperate machines and not loopback, then it seems unstable.

I know its nasty, but where am I going wrong?

Code===

;
AppTitle "Msg Client V 0.1 - Type exit on cmd Line To quit"

;----------->>set main global variables<<----------

;client variables

Global sendpinger$
Global timer
Global username$
Global otherip$
Global startsession$
Global msgsend$
Global msgreceive$

;server variables

Global connectclient$
Global connecturl1$
Global inputentry$
Global timergap$
Global entryfield$

;misc variables

Global linenumber

;----------->>init and set the pinger/server<<-----------

Graphics 640,260,16,2
linenumber=10
connecturl1$=CreateTCPServer(8080)

username$=Input$("Username: ")
otherip$=Input$("IP: ")

sendpinger$=OpenTCPStream(otherip$,8080)
Cls
.startagain

;If linenumber =230 Then
;linenumber=10
;Cls
;EndIf

Locate 0,240
msgsend$=Input$(">: "):msgsent=1
Cls
If msgsend$="exit" Then End

If msgsent=1
WriteString sendpinger$,"Message: "+msgsend$+" from "+username$
Chr$(10)
msgsent=0
EndIf

;CloseTCPStream = sendpinger$

sendpinger$=OpenTCPStream(otherip$,8080)

connectclient$=AcceptTCPStream(connecturl1$)
If connectclient$ Then
inputentry$=ReadString$ (connectclient$)

Locate 0, linenumber
Print inputentry$+" "+CurrentDate()+" "+CurrentTime$()
; linenumber=linenumber+10
EndIf

Goto startagain

rdodson41(Posted 2004) [#2]
Well, I'm making a chat program, maybe someday it will be better than AIM (dream on :) ) and i found out a lot of stuff while making it.