Alpha Image overlay

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Alpha Image overlay

d4rkl1gh7(Posted 2004) [#1]
Im a new convert to Blitz3d from Darkbasic. Firstly, only in the single evening after buying Blitz I've noticed vast improvements (and speed and stability) from Darkbasic.

One thing I've been trying to do since I began various tests is to lay an image with an alpha map (created in Photoshop 7) over everything else that's occuring in the window including 3D and bitmapped background texture.

I've seen several posts about alpha maps but I'd really like to see the syntax in action. Simply put, all I need to do is replace the mouse cursor with an image of a bubble. This obviously is more opaque near the edge and transparent at the center, with highlited area.

What's the best way to approach this kind of problem? Keep in mind again that I'm brand new to the syntax.

Thanks in advance for any help.

WolRon(Posted 2004) [#2]
What's wrong with creating a sprite using your bubble as the texture and using EntityAlpha on it?
I suppose this would affect the entire image which isn't what you want though?

sswift(Posted 2004) [#3]
Use LoadTexture to load the texture. Look in the help file and you will see that there is a flag to specify that the image has an alpha map with it. Both TGA and PNG supprot alpha maps, though older versions of phootshop sometimes have problems exporting PNG properly.

Then create a sprite with createsprite() and change it's size and position with the appropriate sprite commands which will be right there alongside it in the help file.

Then use EntityTexture to apply the texture to the sprite entity.

Use EntityFX to set the sprite to full bright and no fog.

And finally, set EntityOrder ... to a positive value greater than 0 I believe, to make it draw in front of everything else in the scene.

sswift(Posted 2004) [#4]

WolRon(Posted 2004) [#5]
I tried to accomplish what DarkLight wanted but I had trouble figuring out the method.