MySQL ! Connect to it?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/MySQL ! Connect to it?

Apollonius(Posted 2003) [#1]
I'm a newbie to BlitzPlus,
I would like to connect to a mysql database
example:
db name: blitz_db
user: blitz_user
password: blitz_pass

How would you connect to it and read data and write data?

Make it simple, because I'm stupid ^.^
(remember that the database is not on the same computer)

Ice9(Posted 2003) [#2]
I don't have blitzplus but have you looked at SQLite?

Apollonius(Posted 2003) [#3]
never heared of it

Ice9(Posted 2003) [#4]
http://www.hwaci.com/sw/sqlite/

There is the command line interface and also
a dll you can use. It's very small but has
most all of the features you would find in any
database. There are also some tools you can use
to convert access databases and MySQL databases
to SQLite databases. I've been using it in another
language to write some business stuff and it works
well enough for my needs. It also doesn't work as
a server so if that's what you were looking for
it may not be good fro your needs.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2003) [#5]
As far as I see it must be pretty simple to send a MySQL Query to a MySQL Database, or do get something wrong here?

However, iana.org lists the following ports:

mysql 3306/tcp MySQL
mysql 3306/udp MySQL

If you want to then you could install EasyPHP 1.6 locally (includes PHP, MySQL and Apache, one click install) and then try to access it from the Blitz App.

Apollonius(Posted 2003) [#6]
What i wanted to do is connect to a database on another server

like www.bob.com
sql_db: bob_database
sql_user: bob
sql_password: pass
... doesnt seem to be possible

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2003) [#7]
Of course, apache don't cares if the client is on the same machine, for apache it's the same as if it's from an other machine. Simply use 127.0.0.1 as the IP. The only diffrence is you can probably use some Admin Useraccounts for the database that work only fir Localhost, but this isn't a problem.