Is this method as efficient as possible?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Is this method as efficient as possible?

ColeE(Posted 2016) [#1]
I'm trying to hide entities that aren't visible to increase frame rate, and it increases it a significant amount, but not to the point I'd like it to. I've never written I method like this before, so I don't efficient way to do it, any suggestions?

Function cull()
	For x = 1 To xSize%+3
		For y = 1 To ySize% + 3
			If grid3%(x, y) = 4 Then Goto nextIteration
			If EntityDistance(cam, entityGrid(x, y, 0))> 41*wallThickness#+1 Then
				HideEntity entityGrid(x, y, 0)
				If grid3%(x, y) = 0 Or grid3%(x, y) = 5 Then HideEntity entityGrid(x, y, 1)
			Else 
				ShowEntity entityGrid(x, y, 0)
				If grid3%(x, y) = 0 Or grid3%(x, y) = 5 Then ShowEntity entityGrid(x, y, 1)
			EndIf
			.nextIteration
		Next
	Next
End Function

Would it be better to free and re-create the entities? Or something totally different altogether? Because these entities are placed in a grid, could I use that to my advantage?

The didstance at which I have the entities hidden is the CameraFogRange btw

Kryzon(Posted 2016) [#2]
Hello.
If you are using fog you can also set the CameraRange far value to be the same as the fog far, if you haven't done that already -- if the object is fully within fog the camera shouldn't have to worry about it.

Another change that might do some difference is that since you're just doing a comparison between distances you can compare the squared distances -- the effect is the same and you don't have to use EntityDistance (which involves a square root, a potentially expensive operation).

Something like this...
Local distX# = EntityX( entityGrid( x, y, 0 ), True ) - EntityX( cam, True )
Local distY# = EntityY( entityGrid( x, y, 0 ), True ) - EntityY( cam, True )
Local distZ# = EntityZ( entityGrid( x, y, 0 ), True ) - EntityZ( cam, True )

Const MAXIMUM_DISTANCE_SQUARED# = ( 41 * wallThickness + 1 ) ^ 2