Play sound on collision problem?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Play sound on collision problem?

NRJ(Posted 2016) [#1]
I am new to Blitz3D, I am trying to play a sound when the player collides with the door, using the entitycollided command the sound gets played but it is not clear, it looks like it is played again and again instead of playing just once, I am unable to solve this problem , anybody please help me out of this.

Bobysait(Posted 2016) [#2]
Use "ChannelPlaying(Sound)" to check if the sound is playing.
If not, play the sound

ps : Welcome there !

Dan(Posted 2016) [#3]
just earlier today i was trying to find some code for sound, for my project (before i write something for it).

this is what i found:

codearchive

and the post from topknot here is the origin of the above's link , i think.

Bobysait(Posted 2016) [#4]
If you want some stuff to use sounds, here is a little demo which manage to use multiple channels to play sounds.

I set it up to 4 channels arbitrary, but most hardware nowadays can maintain more than 30-50 channels at the same time.
It's just a sample test (old hardware are more restrictive, all depends on the target machine).

(I loaded a sound from windows but it may not exists on some version of windows... change the file for your needs)

ps : I have an old sound library, I thought I posted it long times ago ... seems I didn't :)

RemiD(Posted 2016) [#5]
I remember a problem that i have noticed in the past was that if there were 2 entities which emitted the same sound (which used the same channel) at the same time, only one entity emitted the sound. How to avoid that ? Maybe use one channel per entity (=different channel reference) ? Or load one sound per entity (=different sound reference) ?

NRJ(Posted 2016) [#6]