Blitz3D: links to DLL function lists.

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Blitz3D: links to DLL function lists.

Leafus(Posted 2013) [#1]
Heyawl,

Blitz3D has the CallDLL command and I can't figure out:

a) a good place to look for DLL filenames with a description of what they do. (without installing any programs I can't see source of to compile myself)

b) the functions within those DLL files once found, along with parameters and return values.

For myself, I am wanting to do what I am sure will prove to be a simple thing that will involve nothing more than a standard System32 DLL, but I have no knowledge of such things, nor much of languages outside of the Blitz range. I want to know the Application Folder of the calling program (ie. my blitz game). I know it is a simple command in BlitzMax, and when I went looking in the System topic of the Blitz3D inline 2D help page I figured the only way around it's absence would be to use the CallDLL function I saw in there. I would also appeciate a breakdown of DLL variable structures (ie bytes per float/int/string/pointers/any types I don't know about... how strings work... how pointers work... anything that would be helpful to do with DLLs really).

Anyway, I've waffled on for long enough. If nothing else I hope my thought that this would make a good resource topic for posting of external DLL related links etcetera may prove fruitful.

Also any help with my personal problem would be appreciated please.

Thanking yaz all for reading and in advance for any help offered.

-Leafus :oD

Yasha(Posted 2013) [#2]
The first thing is that the CallDLL command is more or less obsolete. It's been replaced by the rather superior "userlibs" system, which is handy because due to the limitations of CallDLL it can't actually do what you want anyway (it requires functions to have a different signature from the Windows API, so it definitively can't be used to call Windows system functions).