Error compiling libcurl / ares w/ MinGW

Archives Forums/Win32 Discussion/Error compiling libcurl / ares w/ MinGW

jtfrench(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi,

I'm sure this is old news for many of you, but I'm relatively new to getting MingW working w/ BlitzMax on a PC. On my Windows 7 Home Edition/ AMD64 machine with MaxIDE 1.41, FASM 1.68, GCC 4.5.2 and G++ 4.5.2, I get the following errors when trying to rebuild all of my modules (which includes the bah.libcurl).

(also, just for reference, I have already:

• copied the ld.exe and ar.exe binaries that shipped with MinGW to BlitzMax/bin
• added the imports (e.g. libc++) to blitz.bmx in brl.mod

Compiling:ares_fds.c
In file included from c:\mingw\bin\../lib/gcc/mingw32/4.5.2/../../../../include/stdio.h:534:0,
                 from C:/BlitzMax/mod/bah.mod/libcurl.mod/src/ares/setup_once.h:34,
                 from C:/BlitzMax/mod/bah.mod/libcurl.mod/src/ares/setup.h:162,
                 from C:/BlitzMax/mod/bah.mod/libcurl.mod/src/ares/ares_fds.c:18:
c:\mingw\bin\../lib/gcc/mingw32/4.5.2/../../../../include/sys/types.h:119:18: error: two or more data types in declaration specifiers
Build Error: failed to compile C:/BlitzMax/mod/bah.mod/libcurl.mod/src/ares/ares_fds.c
Process complete

It sounds like its referring to some errors with regard to (duplicate?) declarations of the ssize_t family of typedefs. The part in types.h that it is calling out is:

#ifndef _SSIZE_T_
#define _SSIZE_T_
typedef long _ssize_t;

#ifndef	_NO_OLDNAMES
typedef _ssize_t ssize_t;
#endif
#endif /* Not _SSIZE_T_ */ 

I'm at a loss for what's going on. Been banging my head on it for a while. Any ideas what's causing the errors?

Thanks,
Jason

Last edited 2011

Last edited 2011

xlsior(Posted 2011) [#2]
Did you also overwrite the files under blitzmax/lib with their equivalents out of your MinGW install?

The ones bundled with Blitzmax are 3.x versions, which won't work properly if you're using a newer mingw install.

jtfrench(Posted 2011) [#3]