More WinAPI Stuff

Archives Forums/Win32 Discussion/More WinAPI Stuff

_PJ_(Posted 2009) [#1]
]I figured this was perhaps the best place for this as ythe discussion had moved on...

Okay.,.. I am not good at this.

I have managed to obtain the following info on joyGetDevCaps() from MSDN,

joyGetDevCaps(
  UINT_PTR  uJoyID, 
  LPJOYCAPS pjc,    
  UINT      cbjc    
);

typedef struct { 
    WORD wMid; 
    WORD wPid; 
    TCHAR szPname[MAXPNAMELEN]; 
    UINT wXmin; 
    UINT wXmax; 
    UINT wYmin; 
    UINT wYmax; 
    UINT wZmin; 
    UINT wZmax; 
    UINT wNumButtons; 
    UINT wPeriodMin; 
    UINT wPeriodMax; 
    UINT wRmin; 
    UINT wRmax; 
    UINT wUmin; 
    UINT wUmax; 
    UINT wVmin; 
    UINT wVmax; 
    UINT wCaps; 
    UINT wMaxAxes; 
    UINT wNumAxes; 
    UINT wMaxButtons; 
    TCHAR szRegKey[MAXPNAMELEN]; 
    TCHAR szOEMVxD[MAX_JOYSTICKOEMVXDNAME]; 
} JOYCAPS;

I understand a 'Structure' to be equivalent in C to a Blitz 'Custom Type', however, I am not sure how to actually extract the 'fields'.

I've gotten only so far with the Decls:
.lib "WinAPI.dll"
GetController(uJoyID,pjc,cbjc):"joyGetDevCaps"

(Which I'm totally proud of the fact the function shows up in the Blitz IDE, tregardless of it working or not!!!)

To test this, I made the extremely simple bb code:

Print GetController(0,0,0)

Which results in an "Illegal Type Conversion".
I'm guessing it's because I need some form of syntax to point to the fields I want, not just leave the parameters as they are, but I have no clue how to go about this.

Apologies for my complete ignorance, but any pointers would be really helpful!

_PJ_(Posted 2009) [#2]
Surely someone has made decls files for functions that are based on Structs before?
Please, any suggestions would be helpful, I'm at a total loss myself.

Warner(Posted 2009) [#3]
Well, it has been a while since I did this type of stuff, but I think for the pointer type parameters, you could create a bank:
uJoyID = createbank(1)