How to close the game window

Archives Forums/MacOS X Discussion/How to close the game window

Ravl(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hello guys,

it is my first project on mac and the publisher (BFG) have this req:

Quitting: Game saves progress when exited through keyboard shortcuts (CMD + Q, CMD + Option + Esc)

and also when in window mode if the users presses the "x" button

I made a quick test and I observed that in window mode the app is not even closed when I press the window "X" button.

how should i handle all these?

Ravl(Posted 2012) [#2]
for CMD + Q, I made a simple check in my code, so that was easy. But still I have no idea how to make the app close when the user is pressing the X button.

Please help :)

d-bug(Posted 2012) [#3]
AppTerminate() is your friend.

GfK(Posted 2012) [#4]
What I'm doing (also for BFG) is capturing the AppTerminate() event and displaying an "are you sure?" dialog. Already have two games on BFG that use that method.

[edit] Your game looks great, by the way.

Last edited 2012

Ravl(Posted 2012) [#5]
@Gfk:
Thanks,

I just made a quick test and works fine. Also, how did you solve the COMMAND + TAB issue from full screen?

Thank you for the good words regarding my game :P I hope I will be able to release a Mac version, too and maybe an iPhone one.

GfK(Posted 2012) [#6]
I just made a quick test and works fine. Also, how did you solve the COMMAND + TAB issue from full screen?
I didn't. :/ Their specifications say that it's only necessary if the game engine supports it, which Blitzmax doesn't seem to. It does work fine in windowed mode though and that's the only thing they're strict on, really. So hopefully it'll go through OK.

There is an issue in Blitzmax under Mountain Lion that you might or might not be aware of: http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=99166

I'm hoping my work-around (detailed in that thread) is acceptable.

Last edited 2012

Last edited 2012

Ravl(Posted 2012) [#7]