Mac and the App Store

Archives Forums/MacOS X Discussion/Mac and the App Store

SLotman(Posted 2011) [#1]
So... I'm about to take the plunge and purchase a Mac, to convert the game I'm working on also to it.

I never had a Mac, so I'm a completely newbie regarding it (last time I used a Mac was still a G4, no Intel processors) - but I do know my way on 'coding' for several platforms.

What I ask is this: has anyway successfully published on this new mac app store? What is needed (beside an Intel Mac with latest OS) to do it? Any tutorials online? Any site I should visit?

Any link where I can find about payments (like is Brazil supported? How payments are made?) or anything...? I got completely lost on Apple site, appears that every link I click shows a "Learn more..." link, which take to another page, and another, and another...

Really, any help deeply appreciated :)

jhans0n(Posted 2011) [#2]
Yes, my game Senet, which is a BlitzMax game, is on the Mac App Store.

Besides the Intel Mac w/the latest xcode, you need to join Apple's development program for $99. After that, just make sure your app follows their guidelines, use their manual packaging instructions, and you should be good to go.

The developer site is developer.apple.com, by the way.

SLotman(Posted 2011) [#3]
Thanks for the info - at least now I know it can be done.

Unfortunately, I already visited that page - but I can't find any info about how payments (to the developers) are made, a list of supported countries or anything at all :(

I just refuse to give apple $99 to later discover they can't send me any money due to some crazy reason :P~

The only thing mentioning something about that (and it's not official) I could find was this, and it's not encouraging at all :(

Last edited 2011

jhans0n(Posted 2011) [#4]