Can't get a Blitzmax Game to run?

Archives Forums/MacOS X Discussion/Can't get a Blitzmax Game to run?

(tu) ENAY(Posted 2007) [#1]
Ok, being a big Mac novice I have a question.

In Windows, if a blitz game fails to work you advise people to do the stereotypical Windows things of:-

- updating your graphics card drivers
- upgrading to latest version of DirectX
- latest service pack in XP

etc.

But what do you do (can you do?) if a Blitzmax game doesn't run on your Mac? Apart from upgrading to the latest version of the OS, are there are other obvious tips/tricks?

Any info would be appreciated. Ta :)

JazzieB(Posted 2007) [#2]
Well, the minimum OS is currently 10.3.9 or later, so anyone would need to have at least that version on their Mac.

Up to date drivers is still true on the Mac, but I believe all is handled via the built-in Software Update feature of OS X (never actually noticed any graphics drivers download when I've done this though!). As is true for BlitzMax programs on Windows, you will still need a 3D accelerated graphics card before programs will run at an acceptable speed, plus OpenGL. Having said that, you can still download graphics drivers seperately from the manufacturer of the graphics card.

Are you experiencing any particular problem?

(tu) ENAY(Posted 2007) [#3]
I'm not experiencing any problems. It's other people.

Before I upgraded my Mac OS when I tried to Run Blitzmax the icon would enlarge at the bottom and then shirnk away straight away as soon as it had got larger. This is now happening when a Blitzmax game is being run on their machine, best example I can give I'm afraid. So no idea what advice to give after saying, upgrade your OS. Since I don't have any problems.

Do you have to update OpenGL manually on the Mac too? (As if it were the DirectX of the Mac?)
Sorry for the gay questions :)

JazzieB(Posted 2007) [#4]