Creating an app for distribution

Archives Forums/MacOS X Discussion/Creating an app for distribution

zeedoktor(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi all,

I'm a newbie on OSX, and I'm wondering now what tools do I need to ship an application I create with bmx? I notice that most software I download either comes as a dmg or sit. Which is the preferrable method? Also, how do I make the app show Icons? I presume the good old days of RESRC's are over, at least all apps I looked at so far seem to use some wickedy wicked directory structure containing icons etc. Any hints on this end?

Thanks

- Balt

matt!(Posted 2004) [#2]
DMG is a disk image that looks more professional according to some people. TO be honest for small apps it's not worth the bother. SIT is a StuffIt file, sort of ZIP for Macs, or at least it was way back. Now the StuffIt app does ZIP, RAR, LZH and anything else you throw at it. So, anything goes.

ICONS can be made with Iconographer or similar, then copy and pasted between files from the Get Info window. I'd like to see better icon management or app bundling in BMX.

HTH,

Loonie(Posted 2004) [#3]
also, to run bmax you need xcode or project builder, so there's a package maker under the tools folder.......it's basically the basic osx installer

zeedoktor(Posted 2004) [#4]
Hell... how do you copy and paste an .icns file into the Get Info window? That does not work at all here. Please advise... thanks!

Perturbatio(Posted 2004) [#5]
take a look at this thread

Todd(Posted 2004) [#6]
Most OS X users will expect your App to be packaged as a Disk Image (dmg) file. It also happens to be Apple's preferred method of distributing files. You can use the "Disk Utility" under /Applications/Utilities to make a dmg.

Installer Packages (.pkg files made with the "Package Maker" utility) are fine, but they should only be used when you can't fit everything inside of the Application itself.

eni(Posted 2004) [#7]