Using an .icns file

Archives Forums/MacOS X Discussion/Using an .icns file

blacknite(Posted 2004) [#1]
How do you configure the compiled BM .app to use a .icns file instead of the default icon?

Loonie(Posted 2004) [#2]
compile, click on icon, cmd-i and change the icon....you can copu it from the info on the icon you want :)

just like you change any other icon on the mac

blacknite(Posted 2004) [#3]
thanks, i did not know that. must be because i came from a windows enviroment and have only been using a mac for 2 years.

BlitzSupport(Posted 2004) [#4]
Ya learn something every day... I didn't know that either!

blacknite(Posted 2004) [#5]
the only problem is the it does not keep it's tranparancy. We need a SetIcon function for blitzmax

matt!(Posted 2004) [#6]
Yes, or a method of creating a Resources folder and contents in the application package.

MRaven(Posted 2004) [#7]
Another question because I'm still a newbie on Mac stuff (man, Macs REALLY are amazing ;)). Which is a good tool to create a .icns file? I own photoshop, is there a converter or something?

Perturbatio(Posted 2004) [#8]
apparently there's an icon editor with the developer tools.

matt!(Posted 2004) [#9]
I use Iconographer (donationware)

http://www.mscape.com/products/iconographer.html

Todd(Posted 2004) [#10]
Which is a good tool to create a .icns file?

Try the "Icon Composer" utility under /Developer/Applications/Utilities.

As for setting the icon the "right" way (using the Resources folder) as msephton mentioned, I wrote a little app to do just that. Just drag your icon into the first slot, and your app into the second.

Download Here (57 Kb)

MRaven(Posted 2004) [#11]
Try the "Icon Composer" utility under /Developer/Applications/Utilities.

That's what I love about Mac. All you need is allready coming along with the OS. :)

Loonie(Posted 2004) [#12]
the copy-paste process in the info window should keep transparency.....it works on my end no problem :)