OSX and G-net ?

Archives Forums/MacOS X Discussion/OSX and G-net ?

cps(Posted 2016) [#1]
Has anybody tried using G-net with Mac OSX? as I am having a few problems with it.
(I've used the port scanning utility to make sure the port used is free.)
I can create a host using Host = CreateGNetHost() then use GNetListen( host, port number) which creates a host (server) with no name appearing in the g-net lobby.
Otherwise if I use the host to create the LocalObj=CreateGNetObject:TGNetObject( host ) then attempt
GNetConnect( Host,server name, port number, timeout_ms ) even though I can retrieve the 'server name' and the 'port number' from the g-net lobby
I get a timed out connection faliure. I think the problem may be connected with the following

Using : IP$= dottedip(hostip("",0)) returns 0.0.0.0
and using : MyCpuname$=hostname(hostip("",0)) returns "" ie empty string.
PS I have been using these methods on PC's and it's working however I am a novice when it comes to Mac's.
Any pointers would be most welcome, have fun Cps

cps(Posted 2016) [#2]
For anybody stumbling as above, G-net does work with Mac OSX. The problem seems to be finding the Local IP of the IMAC. Have fun Cps

cps(Posted 2016) [#3]
A thread all to myself.. If anybody does have this problem with PC-MAC Comms, the solution seems two fold.
First switch from using server_name$ (server_name = the computer you are trying to connect to) in the line GNetConnect( Host, server_name, port number, timeout_ms )
to using Local_IP$ in place of server_name$. Secondly derive the Local_IP$ from the MAC by using the solution supplied by 'Brucey' and make make use of his Bah.Inet module.
Or the solution provided by 'Ked', LocalIP$ = DottedIP(HostIP("My_Local_Mac_Name.Local")) be sure to provide the local computer name and include the .local bit on the end of the string.