Blitmaz and Linux Noob

Archives Forums/Linux Discussion/Blitmaz and Linux Noob

Grey Alien(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi there, I didn't want to clutter up the Linux forum with some noobish questions so I posted here. I'm a total Linux noob and I'd really appreciate some help with a few things:

1) What version of Linux should I install/use to test with BlitzMax?
2) I have Windows 7 and someone told me I could boot Linux from a CD and run it in RAM or something instead of having to put it on my drive, but is that practical? Surely I'd need to re-install BMax (and any other dependencies) every time, so that we could dumb. So if I dual boot my system (never done that before) is it really safe or could I blow up my win 7 partition (which is on a SSD drive btw, in case that makes any difference)?
3) What are the main pitfalls with getting a BMax game running?
4_ Obviously it uses OpenGL, but is there anything I need to detect/do?
5) Also what sound driver is best? FreeAudio or something else?
6) What about the filesystem? Anything unusual, and where should shared data like player profiles, high scores and ini settings be stored?
7) Anything else? Like is there a ctrl+alt+del (and other system key presses) equivalent that needs to be handled specially etc.

Huge thanks for any advice you can give me on these topics!

I want to get my framework working in Linux so I can release some of my older games (and new ones too of course) on Linux. I already do good with Mac sales and want to try out Linux.

degac(Posted 2011) [#2]
Hi,

1. I've used different version, but with Ubuntu now I'm at 'home'
2. You can choose to install it on a 'virtual machine' (it works - I'm still using this solution sometime, but sometimes the real-hardware could be emulated.
2.1 Just run WUBI, so you dont' need to mess-up with partitions and other things: it creates a 'special-file'partition on a windows hd so it is very handy (you can 'unistall' Ubuntu from Control Panel...