No sound - 1st attempt to use Linux BlitzMax

Archives Forums/Linux Discussion/No sound - 1st attempt to use Linux BlitzMax

mulawa1(Posted 2011) [#1]
After many successful years with Windows BlitzMax and, more recently, a win with Mac OSX, I decided to give Linux a go. But I'm a Linux newbie. I'm using Fedora 14.

Wasn't easy but I've got it working - only gotcha is the lack of sound. I see from searching the forum that sound has been an issue for others.

skidracer said:

Ouch, it looks like both ALSA and OSS audio systems have now been displaced by PulseAudio in world of Linux. Unfortunately BlitzMax doesn't yet support PulseAudio API so you could try using OpenAL, at top of your program try:
EnableOpenALAudio()
SetAudioDriver("OpenAL Default")

I tried this with no success - both the above lines returned False.

The system I'm using does produce sound ok so, as a newbie, I'm at a loss where to go next.

Peter

jhans0n(Posted 2011) [#2]
Yeah, a couple years back I tried to get sound working with BlitzMax on Linux but couldn't. Since the market for Linux games is nonexistent anyway, I just gave up.

The way I see it, if the platform doesn't "just work", and there's hardly anybody playing games on it, why bother with it?

shinkiro1(Posted 2011) [#3]

If you take a look at the statistic of the indie humble game bundle, one can clearly see, that there is market beyond windows.

OnTopic: I've had an issue too with sound, try searching for MaxMod2.

jhans0n(Posted 2011) [#4]
That is a special case. It's the exception and not the rule and you know it.

The Linux game market is small - smaller than OS X. And supporting it is going to take you more time and effort than the other platforms particularly if you don't use it often.

shinkiro1(Posted 2011) [#5]
You may be right.
Although I think if you have the chance to support multiple platforms (which BlitzMax gives you quite easily) there is no reason not to do it.
Just my opinion.

jhans0n(Posted 2011) [#6]