BlitzMax 1.32 and Ubuntu 8.10

Archives Forums/Linux Discussion/BlitzMax 1.32 and Ubuntu 8.10

SLotman(Posted 2009) [#1]
I'm trying to get Blitzmax and Ubuntu to play along, but being a complete Linux newbie, I'm hitting some walls.

I got to the point where I can rebuild the modules from IDE, but when trying to run the breakout sample, I get this error:

Building breakout
Compiling:breakout.bmx
flat assembler  version 1.67.36  (32768 kilobytes memory)
4 passes, 33868 bytes.
Linking:breakout.debug
Executing:breakout.debug
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  143 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  10
  Current serial number in output stream:  10

Process complete

Bmax is installed on /home. Can anyone share some light?

dawlane(Posted 2009) [#2]
Check and make sure that you have 3D Accelarated drivers enabled. Top MENU System->Administration->Hardware Drivers. And tha you have all the necessary packages installed.

EDIT a bit more information about your system would be helpful ;)

markcw(Posted 2009) [#3]
Could also be a video driver problem, depends on your card.

SLotman(Posted 2009) [#4]
Video is ATI Mobility Radeon X1300 - and the driver is problematic, and I cant get around to solve it.
I tried "Hardware Drivers", but after installation I got that problem (before, with software driver, it ran the sample, but at 1fps or less :P)

I also tried downloading the driver directly from ATI, and it still doesnt work.

root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  143 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  10
  Current serial number in output stream:  10

The driver recognized the video correctly:
root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# aticonfig --list-adapters