Mono is cool

Archives Forums/Linux Discussion/Mono is cool

D4NM4N(Posted 2008) [#1]
I started playing around with mono and monodevelop last night and wrote my first C# program on linux.

It seems really good. Has anyone tried this yet?

I managed to write a small proaram using IrrlichtNETCP . This C# seems to be quite nice and doesnt have the annoying c++ things like cstrings and the need to dispose everything.

I have not actually tried it yet on windows, but the generated binary.exe that i can run using mono xxxx on linux should just run on windows too (or a mac too by using the mono prefix). Have i got this right or am i missing something? If true then this is awesome!

I assume there is a catch for such easyness? come on, what is it? serious performance hits? instability?
-It just seems too good to be true.

Picklesworth(Posted 2008) [#2]
Indeed, Mono is nice. Particularly, though, ModoDevelop is nice! Probably the nicest development environment Linux has. It's tightly built, easy to use, stable and flexible. It doesn't try to justify itself by piling in useless tools that have nothing to do with programming or that could easily be accessed externally. Instead its tool set is aimed largely at project management, including such goodies as the ability to generate Makefiles, which is fantastic. This makes MonoDevelop more than just a glorified text editor with its own window manager (eg: Every other useless IDE), and actually an indespensable tool that does something I can't get with just Scribes / GEdit and a terminal.
I use MD mainly for C, and I'm quite excited for the Vala bindings coming in version 2. (Vala is C#-like but compiles to C and then machine code. It's targeted at GNOME, with inherent knowlege of the GObject system. It's going to be awesome).
I'm hooked on Python for the easy cross-platform stuff, so I probably won't ever use the Mono bindings except when I'm writing extensions.