Which Linux?

Archives Forums/Linux Discussion/Which Linux?

MattVonFat(Posted 2005) [#1]
I'm going to install linux on my new computer but going to their site i saw there were loads of versions of it. I'm a bit confused and aren't sure which one i should be getting. Preferably one that isn't too complicated as i have never used it before.

Kev(Posted 2005) [#2]
My First Choice : Ubuntu available http://www.Ubuntu.com/
My Second Choice : Knoppix available http://www.knoppix.net/

for blitzmax without net access under linux knoppix is the best option.

kev

LarsG(Posted 2005) [#3]
1. Ubuntu
2. Fedora Core 4

Craig Watson(Posted 2005) [#4]
After using Ubuntu for a while, I'd really recommend it. If you hate Gnome, there's Kubuntu, which is just Ubuntu with KDE.

SuSE 9.3 was very straightforward and includes everything you'll need to get Blitz to work on the CDs/DVDs.

Fedora Core 4 is a pain. While you'll likely be able to get Blitz working on it, it uses GCC 4 so all your executables will require extra packages on other distributions. Many apps outside of Blitz haven't been cleaned up properly to work on GCC 4, so you'll have to compile a lot of stuff with command line options, etc. Also ATI has only just released video drivers that work without issue on GCC 4.

FYI the next versions of Ubuntu/Kubuntu are meant to be using GCC 4 as standard. With all GCC 4 distros you can also compile under GCC 3 by setting compiler options - perhaps once Blitz Make is open we can make these available to Linux users.

Falelorn(Posted 2005) [#5]
[quote] My First Choice : Ubuntu available www.Ubuntu.com/
My Second Choice : Knoppix available www.knoppix.net/ [quote]

have to agree, after you are well versed in those, move to Fedora.

JazzieB(Posted 2005) [#6]
Well, speaking from personal experience and the immense amount of trouble I went through to get any version of Linux up and running, I would recommend MEPIS - http://www.mepis.org