BlitzMAX and Linspire 5.0

Archives Forums/Linux Discussion/BlitzMAX and Linspire 5.0

computercoder(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello everyone!

I am new to BlitzMAX, and have followed Blitz Research from the days of BlitzBasic.

I finally pulled out the green and purchased this fine product from Blitz Research Inc! I must say IT IS GREAT! (uh... I have used only the Windows version with a full compile, but the Linux edition is much the same!)

That said. Now to the point.

I have been a Lindows/Linspire user for several years, and this document is for users of Linspire 5.0 (I am unsure what would happen in 4.5, as 5.0 is a major upgrade -- new kernel! I am guessing BM would still need the same packages, and you could still install all what is required under the older kernel). I Purchased BlitzMAX to finally create X-Platform programs, where the commands will work the SAME on each platform (Windose, Mac OS-X, and Linux), usually resulting in minimal code changes (if ANY)

The same problem keeps arising with different distros "What packages are required for BM to run on their distro?" Hmmm...

Although I cannot answer this at the moment, I am working on the Linspire distro, which should relate to ALL Debian based systems, if not most major Distros. Linux is all based on the same Kernel, just a different version/revision. 2.4.x, 2.6.x, etc. Mainly, those are revisions with added technology advancements built into the Kernel (2.4.x was USB, and some other goodies, 2.6.x improved it,and so on)

Having noted what Mark Sibly went through, and everyone else, I would like to add my experience thus far. What a ride it has been!

First, and foremost, I have YET to get BlitzMAX to fully build and run a program (even though it says it compiled, but I never see a thing). Also, remember, Linspire uses STABLE releases and CNR follows suit. Realize that you can by-pass all the nice Linspire appeal, and do things the traditional Linux way :)